Ancient Churches Lexicon Entry:


Back to: Lexicon Index | Lexicon Home

After the Flood, the people of the Ancient Church were distinguished into three classes according to their states of good and truth (AC 3240). These three classes, which were called “Shem,” “Ham,” and “Japheth,” were the three parts of the Ancient Church: the internal, the internal but corrupted, and the external. “Ham” was not an actual person, but was the name given to the group of people who formed a corrupt internal of the Ancient Church, that is, they made faith without charity the principle thing of the church (AC 1062). The people called Ham led lives that were full of every evil desire, but believed they could saved by faith no matter how they lived, provided they attended religious services (AC 1063).

In the true Ancient Church sacrifices had been unknown, except among some of the descendants of Ham and Canaan, who were idolaters. Animal sacrifice was permitted with them to prevent them from sacrificing their own sons and daughters (AC 1241).

See also:

Canaan Son of Ham, Charity, Japheth, Noah, Shem, Worship

Passages relating to Ham and the Ancient Churches:

AC 534; AC 768; AC 773; AC 788; AC 915; AC 1062; AC 1063; AC 1076; AC 1077; AC 1079; AC 1140; AC 1141; AC 1160; AC 1162; AC 1227; AC 1241; AC 2417; AC 3240; AC 4680; HD 121
Help with References and Abbreviations